Thank God I’m Canadian

Sung to the tune of Thank God I’m a Country Boy, by John Denver.

American life is way outta whack
The politicians there are all smokin’ crack
One is retarded, the other is a quack
Thank God, I’m Canadian

Well American life use to have a lot of charm
In the past they’ve done some good and averted some harm
Now it’s all red necks and a lot of firearms
Thank God, I’m Canadian

Well they got them a fine mess that isn’t so little
“The Greatest Country In The World”, that don’t mean diddle
U.S. life is a funny funny riddle
Thank God I’m Canadian

The election’s all done and the results are in
But you can’t imagine who it was that got the win
Yes, it’s Donald Trump and his evil lookin’ grin
Thank God I’m Canadian

Now we are all wondering how this could come to be
His policies are radical and arbitrary
Yet he was elected by the greater majority
Thank God I’m Canadian

Well they got them a fine mess that isn’t so little
“The Greatest Country In The World”, that don’t mean diddle
U.S. life is a funny funny riddle
Thank God I’m Canadian

Well I wouldn’t want live down there with that fool
There’s a lot of folks who think that he’s just a tool
Livin’ there would be unnecessarily cruel
Thank God I’m Canadian

Well this is a guy who wants to put a ban
On Muslim immigration anyway he can
In the immortal words of Lando Calrisian
You should get out while you still can

Well they got them a fine mess that isn’t so little
“The Greatest Country In The World”, that don’t mean diddle
U.S. life is a funny funny riddle
Thank God I’m Canadian

Immigration Canada’s website has been crashing
From all the folks down there in the country he’ll be trashing
I will be up here with my smile just a flashing
And thanking God I’m Canadian

Well it is time to go, I can’t stay any longer
I don’t want to hear any more from that warmonger
And perhaps what doesn’t kill you will make you stronger
Thank God I’m Canadian

Well they got them a fine mess that isn’t so little
“The Greatest Country In The World”, that don’t mean diddle
U.S. life is a funny funny riddle
Thank God I’m Canadian

I wasn’t going to post this, but Kat, who is American, urged me to.

3 thoughts on “Thank God I’m Canadian”

  1. it’s okay to post it ….it’s that thing that you do and you do it very well ….you’ve got a lot of talent for parody …..that said I took it upon myself on Facebook to explain to everybody about how you get to move to Canada and set them straight ….I would like to personally apologize to all the Canadian computers that crashed. No country is perfect, pros and cons, this and that .but one thing we do do when something is threatening our home we make a stand and we fight for it…. and I’m sure that is nothing different than what you would do if your home was threatened. That said one day if I should have the opportunity and the blessing to reside with you guys in my retirement I just want you to know if something ever threatened you I would stand in the gap for you, and protect you. That said I wonder what you would call a canadian-american …maybe that equates to the….. Can-Can? ; ) AZ Has Spoken Thusly. Have a spiffy night!

Leave a Reply

