Trailer rebuild: almost there

Things are slowing down as we get closer to having a livable situation in the trailer. My posts will be slowing down as well, as we won’t have as many building projects during the winter. More like stay inside and keep the fire going. Time to hibernate, as it were.

We had numerous distractions from the trailer this past week, but we did make some progress with it. We’ve been working on getting some semblance of a kitchen up and running in some form. The first thing I did was reinstall the hot water heater, which is interesting because we don’t have any water in the tank for it to heat. I really only did it because it helps organize the mess of pipes and wires coming out of the wall, not to mention that it fills in the big hole in the wall to the outside where the propane connects to it.

TrailerWork_000

We took our old table that we used to eat at and moved it into the kitchen slide out so we have something resembling counter/shelf space. I also brought in and hooked up the cook stove as well.

TrailerWork_002

Here is a picture of the stove actually running. Yay, we can cook now ๐Ÿ™‚

TrailerWork_001

We took the other table we had brought in and moved it into the spot where we used to have the old table. It’s bigger, but it fit really well, and this one isn’t screwed into the floor so we can move it around if necessary.

TrailerWork_003

We also moved the island back into its original position, though we haven’t screwed it down to the floor.

TrailerWork_006

As some of you are aware, it was my birthday on Saturday (Nov 21st). I went back and looked at my birthday post from last year and wow, what a difference.

For contrast, I took this picture.

TrailerWork_004

Nope, not much snow there. On the other hand, we’re much further along with having completed the roof and composting toilet room (I like to call it the smurf house because of the colour Kat painted it, but she hates that name :P) We also have a nice storage spot for lots of fire wood and it has no small amount of wood in it too. We’re in much better shape than we were last year at this point.

TrailerWork_005

No snow over here either. I must say, it has been a great autumn. We have had plenty of opportunities to get outside and do the stuff we needed to get done without being interrupted too often due to bad weather.

It did start to snow gently in the afternoon, but it was one of those lazy snowfalls, so it was quite pleasant. I think you can see one white, blurry flake on the right side of the next picture.

TrailerWork_007

There was an interesting moment I had while standing beside our little pond. If you look further out, so you can see more reflection in the water, I watched as the reflection of the snow coming down was coming up to meet the flakes. It was very neat, but next to impossible for my phone camera to fully capture the essence of. You’ll have to be satisfied with a reflection picture with a few snow flake induced ripples in the water.

TrailerWork_008

Snow on my birthday is fairly normal, and as it turned out, that lazy snow fall turned much more intense over night. Here is a picture of what we woke up to this morning.

TrailerWork_010

Our baker friend, Jaimie Lott, made me a cake (sort of) to celebrate my new age. It was more like several small cakes arranged together. I think it originally said Happy 42 B-Day Dave, but after Kat and I dove in, we now just have 2 B Happy Dave.

TrailerWork_009

Yes, tis a good time to be happy. Thank you everyone who has sent along good wishes.

3 thoughts on “Trailer rebuild: almost there”

  1. Happy (belated) Birthday! I hope you had a wonderful weekend, and lots and lots of yummy cake! ๐Ÿ™‚

    p.s., You’re right, I didn’t forget about your birthday, but I also didn’t get near a computer or phone long enough to send you wishes on the day, what with Z’s swimming lessons and first birthday celebration. Hope you heard my mental birthday wishes though, as I sent them several times this weekend…

      1. Lol, probably about 100 of them! ๐Ÿ™‚ As soon as I get them offloaded from the camera I’ll send you a few if you want. Especially of the ‘smash cake’ moment…:D

Leave a Reply

