Moving Day

Well, the big day came and went. We have now installed ourselves in the trailer. It was not without its trials though and we still have much to do to get it ready for winter.

But before I get into that, let me describe some of the stuff that went on for the move. The first thing we did was get rid of as much stuff as we could. We sold off our bedroom set and found a new home form my custom made wall unit. Then we had a “come take it away, it’s all free” day. We filled up our back deck and posted an add on kijiji saying to come take it away. It looked something like this.

Moving_003

… and this…

Moving_001

… oh and the chairs too.

Moving_002

Unfortunately, we didn’t have as many scavengers as we thought we would. Many people emailed me interested about certain things and saying they would surely be there. We had four separate groups show up and that was it. Kind of a bummer, we were left with a tonne of stuff.

However, I did get contacted from a guy who said he deals in recycling junk and would be happy to come take away anything I had left for free. So that worked out well. He backed his pickup up to the deck and we loaded everything we had left. It was a good thing he didn’t have far to go, because it was a precarious pile. It was great to see all of that stuff carted away.

After that was accomplished, we finished our packing and then on the designated morning, went and picked up the U-haul. Now the last time we rented a U-haul, we blew a tire on Hwy 417 and waited for four hours for a tech to show up and fix it. Not a pleasant experience.

Fortunately, we didn’t have any mishaps like that this time. It all went pretty smooth, except for the fact that it took us six hours to load the truck. I was hoping it would only take three to four, but you also have to take into account it was only Kat and I who were doing the moving. Yet another good reason to get rid of as much stuff as you can ;).

I then drove the big truck up to a place near Bancroft that had storage units where we put the majority of it in a large 10×16 storage bay and then trucked the rest to the trailer. After unloading at the trailer, it was around 8pm and the interior looked like this.

Moving_004

Not much room to move, but since then we’ve unpacked and organized. The first two days were tough and frustrating but once we got everything up and going we were able to relax. I had a fun moment when I realized I was no longer paying rent or have an electricity bill. That being said we will have a propane bill as our stove and fridge run on it. We’re still working on the heating issue and we haven’t even started on putting the straw bales around yet. There is just so much to do. I’ll try to update the blog each time we accomplish something.

As a finish, I had been outside working on fine tuning the level of the trailer for a while and after I was finished I came back inside and sat down for a bit. Well Fizgig, one of our cats, thought that something on my pants smelled fascinating and he spent a good ten minutes thoroughly investigating them. I have photographic proof too.

Moving_005

Ahh, where would we be without funny cat pictures on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Moving Day”

  1. I’ve always had a great deal of respect for your ability to make a commitment to what you want to do, and this project has me totally wowed.!!! I still think you might be crazy… but we love you anyway. Colleen

    1. That’s okay, it has us wowed as well, but I think that is much of the appeal. It’s crossed our minds more than once that this is a bit nutso. On the other hand, it gives us some great conversation starters 😛 Thanks for the support 🙂

Leave a Reply

