Academy Day: 0

Today was the travel day from Albuquerque to Taos. It started off, however with a nice buffet breakfast at the hotel.

After that, I just had to wait around for the shuttle to come pick me up. They were a bit delayed as there was another person they were picking up who’s flight had been delayed. But everything worked out and we journeyed on. I’ve included a picture of the hills as we were getting out of Albuquerque.
LeavingAlbuquerque

We picked up another passenger in Santa Fe and then myself and one of the other passengers needed to swap vehicles in Espanola. It was a bit of a juggle, but it went pretty smoothly.

It was cool out, not cold, just cool. I was pretty warm with my jacket and sweater on yesterday so I decided to forgo the sweater today, which was a good idea. I think it was 68F (~19C) when we arrived in Taos, with a slight breeze. The only snow I could see were at the top of some mountains.

I checked into the B&B I was staying at. They have their own resident peacock, who apparently is going into mating season so he can be a bit *extra* friendly, if you get to close. I managed to avoid any awkward situations.
Peacock

Then it was time to tackle my phone issues. See, I removed my SIM card and put it in Kat’s (my wife) phone so she would retain the service while I’m away. But that leaves me with no phone while I’m away.

So the plan was to get a local SIM for down here and then just get a prepaid plan for the month. Well, it’s Sunday and we’re in a small town. The wife of the couple who own and run the B&B where I’m staying was gracious enough to take me down to Wal-mart to see if we could get a SIM. Alas, Wal-mart does not carry such a thing, they only have various plan options.

It turns out there was a Verizon store in town, and it was open on Sundays. Unfortunately, it closed at 3pm and we only got there at ten after four. So, I’m still without phone service. Which made contacting my fellow academy members a bit difficult.

I started with an email, as the B&B has free wifi and I knew my contact had a smart phone. I waited a while for a reply and then I had a funky idea. My laptop has quite the number of bells and whistles, including a built-in web cam and I wondered if it had a built-in mic. Well, in fact it does, but it’s not labeled very well, which is why I missed it before.

Armed with this new knowledge, I booted up my trusty internet calling app and called Steve (my contact). The call wasn’t the best quality (I was sitting outside) but we made it work. Plans were arranged for a pickup and dinner.

At 19:30 we all got ferried over to a local place called the Adobe Bar. It had some live entertainment and I got to meet six of my fellow academy attendees. Guess what we talked about? You got it! Earthships πŸ˜›

I had this really funky rabbit and rattlesnake sausage dinner, with cabbage, potatoes and greens. It tasted pretty awesome too. I took a picture of it, but unfortunately, it came out all blurry so there is no point in posting it.

That’s it for today. Tomorrow is our first day: orientation. Woohoo!!

10 thoughts on “Academy Day: 0”

  1. Damn you and your 68 degrees. It snowed again overnight here.

    That said, Putty (the neighborhood Aussie shepherd) helped me bring in firewood yesterday, so it was quite pleasant indoors. Additionally, I spent the night covered in kittens which are far more comfortable than peacocks, whose rule is ‘Whatever happens at the B&B, stays at the B&B’.

    ~K~

  2. Oh, and dinner sounds lovely. Was the rabbit still INSIDE the rattlesnake or did they remove it first and then cook it?

    HAHAHA.

    Damn, I miss the desert.
    ~K~

    1. Well, sausages do look kinda snake-like, soooo… I guess it could work like that. Though, I supposed it’s equally possible the rabbit ate the snake and they just cooked a section of it’s stomach or intestine.

  3. I’m not sure which I’m looking forward to more… hearing about the food, hearing about the Earthships,… or hearing about your challenges with dodging an over-amorous peacock! πŸ™‚

    Good luck down there! And don’t forget to come back…. or I might steal your “wife”! πŸ˜‰

  4. Kat, that was gross….i.e. wabbit IN snake…comment.
    Glad y’all made it to the Land of Warmth just fine, Mr. Dave!
    Given a couple more days you’ll be traipsing around in shorts
    and flip-flops. However, watch out for the bad things of the desert.
    Including, apparently………Peacocks.
    Mums in AZ

  5. It sounds like a fab adventure and we’re glad you’re having so much fun. Try to get a picture of the peacock with the tail out, against an nice background…..I always need fabric art inspiration. Love Colleen and Dad

Leave a Reply

