Where to begin

How about at the beginning.

Sometime around 2003 I was in my living room and we had the TV on.  This is interesting in itself because we’ve never had cable, but back then you could still pull in a few channels with what we referred to as the “rabbit ears”.  We caught the end of a program that was on TVO (TV Ontario for those who aren’t familiar).

I don’t know what the program was called, I just remember we saw maybe the last 3 minutes of it and they were showing a house that was being built using tires and pop cans.  They mentioned things like needing no furnace due to solar passive heating and a few other features, but they never said what the type of house was called.

Back in 2003, the internet was not what it is today, in 2014.  It took me over an hour of search after search, but eventually I found it: that house was an Earthship.

Since then, I have bought books, watched videos and basically tried to keep up with all of the recent developments on Earthships.  These days there is quite a lot of information about Earthships on the net.

However, I have decided to take this one step further.  I have signed up for the Earthship Academy down in Taos, New Mexico, where they were first invented and build by a man named Michael Reynolds.  So, on March 8th, I will fly down to Albuquerque, NM and then make my way over to Taos the next day.  Starting on the morning of March 10th, 2014, I will be immersed in everything Earthships six days a week, for four weeks.  I am greatly looking forward to it.

This blog will serve many purposes.  I will use it to keep track of my progress through the academy.  I will also use it to track my progress when I take on the challenge of building my own, as I have been wanting one for quite some time now.  I may also use it to expound on various life related issues which may or may not have a direct link to Earthships.

Needless to say, this is the start of a new voyage.  Welcome aboard.

Dave Wilson

Leave a Reply

